Bon Appétit!

Cinema Welcome to a new entry of my weekly cinema section. This week I just watched one film which which is worth to be mentioned here (the other ones were Iron Man 3 and Monster’s University. I was forced to watch them on the train, it was a long journey but it was not such a bad idea because they helped me to sleep). As last Thursday I watched #Chef I thought about making a little review of films that are related to food so they make you crave culinary delicatessen. So I hope you’ve had dinner, lunch, breakfast or a little something before you read this… And please, feel free to suggest any other film related to food!

#Chef by Jon Favreau (2014)

Chef-2014-Movie-Poster1-650x955

Wow. After I watched this film I wanted so much one of those Cuban Sandwiches. Really. They seemed so unhealthy though: tons of butter, bacon and fats… Have you ever tried them? 

cuban sandwich

Apart from this I didn’t like the film that much. The plot was predictable, the characters weren’t that convincing and the end… the end is completely unbelievable. Although it was not boring to watch I wouldn’t recommend it… Although It has some funny jokes.

Chocolat by Lasse Hallström (2000)

chocolat_posterI loved this film which is original and has the beautiful Juliette Binoche in the main role (and a gipsy Jonny Deep). Chocolate is one of my dark pleasures, I enjoy it in all its forms, and in fact, the darker the better… In this film it is used even as a medicine for stomach ache (well, I suppose they used cocoa not like a tremendous chocolate cake or something). This I would recommend it for my friends. On the other hand, the food here has this duality of pleasure and sin, a reflection I particularly like.

Babette’s Feast by Gabriel Axel (1987)

babette

This is an interesting film but one not everyone could enjoy. It might seem a bit boring because the pace of the plot is very slow. I liked it because is a funny story, rare and enchanting at the same time. A French cook arrives at a little village in Denmark and starts working for a couple of old (but good hearted) sisters. To show them gratitude, she ends up preparing a gargantuan feast for the whole community of puritans these sisters belong to. The food is similar to those which could have been served in Maria Antoniette’s Versalles and the puritans are so afraid of such luxuries that they promise each other not to say a word about them while they eat, as if prettending they are just tasting their every-day insipid gruel.

The recipe that surprised me the most was the stuffed quails in puff pastry called cailles en sarcophageDon’t you just love how it sound? Would you try them?

7-cailles-en-sarcophage,-400-KPNV

The Japanese director Hayao Miyazaki said he took this film as an inspiration for depicting the colossal feasts in Spirited Away

Julie & Julia by Nora Ephron (2009)

312julie-and-julia

This is a nice film that makes you feel really hungry but happy, because it gives the impression everyone of us has a great cook inside just waiting to be discovered… which I don’t think it’s true, because cooking very complex and demanding. A friend of mine told me the other day food tastes better when you’ve someone making it for you. I don’t exactly agree with her but I think what she was trying to express is that cooking involves so much time: going for the ingridients, cooking them properly, and… cleanning. And things are not easy as you’ve to practice a lot before you become a decent cook. Cooking is then an art, isn’t it? And you’ve to be prepared for that, give it your sould and all that romantic stuff artists are supposed to cope with.

Ratatouille by Brad Bird and Jan Pikava (2007)

536432-ratatouille-affiche

An animated film which can also wake up your culinary insticts. In this case the cook is not other than one of the filthiest animals, a rat who surprisingly has more taste than any French cook (funny, right?) The story is entertaining, the rat is cute, the recipies are inspiring… AlsoI feel sympathy for the guy who is trying to be a cook but cannot manage in the kitchen… IAll those little disasters are so familiar to me: fire, boiling water… Sometimes when I cook (and I really enjoy cooking, by the way, and would love to be a decent cook over the years) I feel more like an alchimist trying to find the philosopher’s stone… I should consider take some advice from rats, hehe.

Mostly Martha by Sandra Nettelbeck (2001)

Mostly Martha

I watched this film long time ago when I was still a little girl. But it was kind of a revelation, as for the very first time I percieved cooking as an art. The main character is Martha, a cook in a restaurant who treats food as colours which she uses to create genuine masterpieces. This aspect of the film impressed me so much that for a moment I thought of becoming a cook myself. But I keep prefering drawing…

So I'm listening...

